Linz1212’s Weblog

Post #1

Posted on: September 15, 2008

     My past experiences with technology and computers are pretty good. In school I was taught how to use the basic programs on a computer. I learned how to use Microsoft Word, Excel, Power Point, and so on. I created a couple of webpages while in school. One was about music and bands and the other consisted of tattoos, accessories, care, etc.

     I believe that computing technology should be used in school, but it should not be seen as the “teacher.” Computers can show children things that are unbelievable. There are remarkable things that we would never be able to see because they are on the other side of the world. The computer/Internet connects us to others. It gives us insight and allows us to experience more.  There are so many possibilities with the Internet and technology like it. Like everything else, we can not rely on this new technology. We can not allow technology to take the place of human to human contact. Such programs like Youtube or Facebook, seem to be ways of marketing other people. People put themselves on Youtube to be seen. These videos are shared by the millions. There are ups and downs to these programs. We can socialize on the computer and do homework, but some people treat the Internet like a second home. There are people who live on facebook for hours at a time. They are looking at other people’s pages and updating their own. It seems that people have forgotten about a place called “outside.” Don’t get me wrong, I like computers. They are helpful and I use some of the programs like facebook and youtube. At the same token, like i was saying earlier, these programs shouldn’t be taking over our lives.

     I would say that children in their earlier stages of school, do not need to be on computers. They do not need to learn how to use a computer, but now the world is changing. The world is really moving forward with technology and what it has to offer. Now I can see that children will need to learn how to use a computer to fit into society. Using a computer will be a must. Everything is becoming digital and advanced and there’s nothing we can do about it. We just have to grow with society and its advances.

     Mobile phones are very useful. They have become the new hand held internet. I just don’t see why small children are going to school with them. I didn’t have one until I was in my teens and that was only because I started working. If you want to get a hold of your kids, know where they are. If that is your main concern, become involved in their life. 

     My expectations for this class is to learn something new. I want my instructor to be very informative and clear about the projects we are doing (which he has been so far).  I am going in with an open mind and I am trying to take it all in. haha.

Leave a Reply

September 2008
M T W T F S S
    Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Delicious

RSS Janine’s Blog

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
